Is there PORK in the TOOTHPASTE?
Came across the following.
Is there pork in the toothpaste?
Some of our toothpaste products contain glycerin. The glycerin we use is obtained from both internal and external sources. When made internally, the glycerin is made through procedures involving evaporation, distillation and bleaching of a crude glycerin derived from beef tallow, coconut or palm kernel oils.
Much of our glycerin is produced internally; however, it sometimes is necessary to supplement the supply of glycerin by purchasing it from external suppliers. When it is necessary to add to the supply by buying glycerin, external suppliers are carefully selected. The glycerin is only accepted if it meets or exceeds the United States Pharmacopedia (USP) quality standards. However, we cannot guarantee that the glycerin is Our regular quality control procedures are used to monitor the quality of the glycerin. Glycerin may be made from synthetic or animal sources. It is difficult for Colgate to determine which type of glycerin is in our toothpaste. However, if you are concerned for religious reasons, we recommend the following toothpastes which only use synthetic glycerin: Colgate Junior Toothpastes, Colgate WinterFresh Gel, Colgate Great Regular Flavor (2.7oz only), Colgate 2-in-1, Colgate Fresh Confidence with Whitening Toothpaste, Colgate Sparkling White Cinnamon Spice Gel and Colgate MaxFresh Toothpaste.
Any comments, advices, etc ? Jazaak allaahu khayran wassalaamu alaykum
In some and one almost has to be a chemist to know it is there. We use Miswak paste. Taste NASTY but it’s safe and good for teeth and gums. Many Halal body products can be bought online and completely safe. If online doesn’t appeal to you and halal market is not available. Health Food stores have Vegan products which are completely halal.